Big Bash League New Rules: X Factor, Power Surge

X Factor - Big Bash League New Rules

After a stretched out pandemic season, the Big Bash league (BBL) has rolled out a few exciting elements into the league to add more thrill in the field. The BBL new rules feature three surprise additions such as the BBL X factor, the Power Surge and Bash Boost. The brand new season kicks off on 22nd December, 2021 and here’s all you need to know and expect from the 2021 gala.

Big Bash New Rules  (BBL 2021-22)

BBL X Factor

X Factor is actually a surprise player who’ll be either the 12th or 13th player on the team arrangement that can enter the field after the 10th over of the 1st innings to replace any batter in the team who is yet to bat or a bowler who hasn’t bowled more than a single over as per the BBL new rules. The X factor player (bowler) can bowl for up to 4 overs even if the player he has replaced has thrown the ball before he did. 

BBL Power Surge

The next one among the Big Bash new rules features the Power Surge which is essentially a two over period during which the fielding team can only engage 2 fielders outside the inner circle. The batting team can use the Power Surge at any point of time after the 11th over of the current innings. The BBL new rules have also reduced the Powerplay to four overs.

BBL Bash Boost

Next on the list of Big Bash New rules comes the Bash Boost. It’s basically a bonus point that teams can get once they are halfway through the 2nd innings. The chasing team in the BBL league will score the bonus point if they manage to beat the equivalent 10 over score of their opposition. On the contrary, if the chasing team is behind the 10 over score of their opponents, the Bash Boost bonus points shall go to the fielding team. As per the BBL new rules, the winning team will be awarded 3 points for their victory as opposed to 2 points earlier.

Popularity and Impact of the Big Bash League (BBL)

The latest Big Bash new rules of X Factor, Power Surge and Bash Boost together will be gamechangers for competitors as now, teams can make use of these rules to strategize and attain more points. The Power Surge is also anticipated to fuel more field action in BBL 11 by the batsmen just like the one we saw in the BBL 10 when Pooran slammed 8 sixes in a stunning innings of 65 out of 26 balls against the Sydney Sixers.

Established in 2011 by Cricket Australia, the Big Bash League, popularly known as BBL or the Big Bash, has cemented itself as one of the most popular T20 Cricket Leagues besides the Indian Premier League over the years. It features the top 10 domestic leagues in the field of sports in average attendance at its home ground in Australia. The Big Bash League is typically held in the summer of Australia between December and February.

The 2021-22 is the 11th edition of the BBL and kicked off on 5th December with the finals due on 28th January, 22. With the core intention of strengthening the bond among the indigenous community of Australia, this year, players of all teams shall adorn indigenous kits depicting unique stories crafted by Aborginal and Torres Strait Islanders artists. Fans in India can enjoy the match on Sony Six HD, Sony Ten and Sony Liv (Internet).

Dimag Laga, Dum Dikha and Cash Kama on BalleBaazi!

Join the live action on BalleBaazi and play your favourite cricket leagues today. Create your dream fantasy team of the best players and mint some money while they do the deed for you. BalleBaazi, India’s most rewarding fantasy gaming destination of 2021 where we keep popping up with the most unconventional bonus codes so that you make smart deposits and enjoy amazing returns. 

If you have just stumbled upon us today, we say you download the app, and sign up to play your first match for free!