Indian Cricket Team on the Brink of a Historic Feat in T20 Internationals

India vs South Africa T20I Match Records

What is the record that the team is vying for?


 The Indian cricket team is set to establish a record when they will be taking on South Africa in the first match of the T20I series on June 9, 2022. The current streak of 12 consecutive victories by the Indian team will go on to forge history if they beat South Africa in the upcoming match of the five t20 series. This would also place India in a tie with Afghanistan and Romania for most consecutive T20I wins. After securing a victory against Sri Lanka in the third T20I on February 27, India managed to equal the record of 12 consecutive T20I wins by other countries (Bangladesh, Australia, and New Zealand). A win against South Africa will create history for the Men in Blue in T20 Cricket.

India’s incredible winning streak began in November 2021, when they defeated Afghanistan by 66 runs in the Twenty20 World Cup. Their second victory appeared as they enjoyed a comfortable victory against Scotland by eight wickets. India stretched their unbeaten streak to three after defeating Namibia by eight wickets on November 8, 2021.

Who has been the brains behind this incredible feat?

Rohit Sharma, India’s new T20I captain, has led his side to four consecutive series wins over New Zealand, West Indies, and Sri Lanka at home. He achieved this feat in just three months after being appointed the skipper. In less than four months of donning the role of the team lead, Rohit has already achieved the feat of being the most successful T20I captain at home. He has led India to 17 wins in a total of 18 matches at home, and 23 wins in 25 matches overall. The batsman has an impressive captaincy record in other T20s too – Rohit has captained 153 matches in T20s (including the Indian T20 Premier League), winning 96 of the lot and losing 57.

India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final T20I of their series in February, 27th, 2022. This is India’s 17th win against Sri Lanka in this format, which is the most for any team against one country. India next plays South Africa in a 5 match T20I series on 9th June, 2022. The very first match shall be a decisive one in terms of the Men in Blue creating history for themselves in T20I cricket by being the first ever team to enjoy 13 serial victories! We are yet to mark our comments on this one as fans brace themselves for an epic battle!

The Record That is Slowly Sinking in

Rohit Sharma equaled the record for most consecutive T20I wins as Indian captain, by leading his country to three successive victories over New Zealand and Australia. He also became the first captain to win 12 consecutive T20Is for Afghanistan between 2018 and 2020. Rohit started tasting success when he guided the national team to two wins at home against Bangladesh and captained the team to a victory against New Zealand in 2020. This was followed by the three whitewash victories, which came after he was named the full-time T20I captain for India in November after the T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma equaled the record for most whitewash victories as captain in the T20I series of three or more matches, tying with former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed. Rohit’s first three whitewash wins came against Sri Lanka at home in 2017 and 2018, then against West Indies at home in 2018. Rohit has led India to 24 wins in 28 T20I matches so far, 17 of those wins came in their homeland in an impressive 18 games.

In the post-match presentation, Rohit Sharma remarked, “It’s a pattern of everything that comes together. We played very well. Lot of positives came out from the series. Want to understand what kind of bench strength we have..”

The New Faces of India

 India’s cricket team will take on South Africa in a T20 match in Delhi on 9 June, 2022. The country has won the most consecutive T20 matches so far and hopes to win again. Some senior players have been rested for this series, including Captain Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh, who had strong showings in the IPL, will have their first chance to play for India. Senior players Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, and Rishabh Pant are also returning to the team after strong performances in the Indian T20 Premier League 2022. KL Rahul will be captaining this team while Rishabh Pant serves as vice-captain.

No one doubts the batting credentials of KL Rahul, but his leadership chops will be put to test in the home series against South Africa. Everyone is waiting to see how Rahul, who took his team Lucknow to the playoffs in Indian T20 Premier League 15, runs the game with a budding and passionate team at the international level. However, whether he will be able to maintain his form while under pressure at the international level will depend on how well his batting skills pan out. In Indian T20 Premier League 2022, Rahul scored 616 runs in 15 matches including 2 centuries while playing the captaincy and was second only to Jos Buttler in the Orange Cap race.

If all this action has you amped up, why not join the fantasy realm and clinch a few victories for yourself? Download the BalleBaazi App and catch on the season’s latest action today and win lots of cash. Enjoy your ₹50 sign up bonus and play your first cash league for free!