The Battle of the Underdogs: Kings XI Punjab Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

How To Play

After a time of tense uncertainty, IPL 2020 has finally kicked off and both the teams and fans are raring to go. Coming into the 2020 season of the Indian Premier League, both Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings XI Punjab will be looking forward to making a mark in the tournament. Kings XI Punjab will try to secure their maiden title-win after coming agonizingly close in their match against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014. Even though many IPL results have not gone their way, the Kings have a solid team this year, and they are a force to reckon with.

On the other hand, after having tasted victory in 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad will be thirsty for more. Being led by the incredible David Warner, who made a brilliant comeback, Hyderabad will be looking to secure the top spot on the IPL league table,thus giving them another shot at the title. Even though both teams are seen as underdogs, the Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad clash will be a must-watch match because of the pure cricketing talent that will be on display. From the inevitable explosion of runs by the Gayle-storm to the tumbling down of wickets at the hands of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, KXIP vs SRH 2020 is shaping up to be one of the most exciting matches of the tournament. Here’s everything you need to know about KXIP vs SRH :

KXIP Vs SRH Full Squad List

Barring a few changes, both teams have managed to retain their key players and have kept their core batting and bowling line-up unchanged. Here is the complete list of players in the squad:

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner Abhishek Sharma Basil Thampi
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Billy Stanlake Jonny Bairstow
Kane Williamson Manish Pandey Mohammad Nabi
Rashid Khan Sandeep Sharma Shahbaz Nadeem
Shreevats Goswami Siddarth Kaul Khaleel Ahmed
T Natarajan Vijay Shankar Wriddhiman Saha
Virat Singh Priyam Garg Mitchell Marsh
Sandeep Bavanaka Fabian Allen Abdul Samad
Sanjay Yadav Jason Holder  

Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul Arshdeep Singh Chris Gayle
Darshan Nalkande Krishnappa Gowtham Hardus Viljoen
Harpreet Brar Jagadeesha Suchith Karun Nair
Mandeep Singh Mayank Agarwal Mohammad Shami
Mujeeb Ur Rahman Murugan Ashwin Nicholas Pooran
Sarfaraz Khan Glenn Maxwell Sheldon Cottrell
Deepak Hooda Ishan Porel Ravi Bishnoi
Jimmy Neesham Chris Jordan Tajinder Singh
Simran Singh    

Head to Head Stats:

Total Matches Played: 14 Kings XI Punjab Sunrisers Hyderabad
Matches Won 4 10
Matches Lost 10 4
No Result 0 0
Highest Score 211 212
Lowest Score 119 121

Players to Watch For

Over the years, Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad have managed to put together a well-balanced team that includes young talent as well as veteran experience. Here’s a look at the key players to watch out for in Kings Xi Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Chris Gayle

  • Role: All-rounder
  • Batting Style: Left-handed
  • Bowling Style: Right-arm off-spin
  • Nationality: West Indian

Even a simple glance at the IPL stats over the years will tell you that this West Indian is easily one of the most prolific batsmen in the Indian Premier League. With Gayle out on the pitch, you can be sure the KXIP vs SRH match will have its fair share of boundaries. Can the Gayle-storm take KXIP to the top of the IPL league table?

Key Stats: Chris Gayle holds the record for the highest individual score in the history of the

Indian Premier League. He scored an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls against the Pune Warriors India in 2013.

KL Rahul

  • Role: Wicket Keeper, Batsman
  • Batting Style: Right-handed
  • Nationality: Indian

As a captain, KL Rahul has been known to lead from the front, and has managed to get the Kings XI Punjab out of some really tight corners, overturning IPL results in favor of the Kings XI single-handedly. KL Rahul and Chris Gayle form a potent opening combination that is sure to fire during KXIP vs SRH 2020.

Key Stats: In 2018, he finished the tournament with an impressive strike rate of 158.41, one of the highest that year. He also holds the record for the fastest IPL fifty (off just 14 balls).

David Warner

  • Role: Batsman
  • Batting Style: Left-handed
  • Bowling Style: Right-arm leg spin
  • Nationality: Australian

David Warner has built a reputation for being one of the most destructive openers in the Indian Premier League. The man who led his team to their maiden tournament win in 2016 will definitely be hungry for more during the Punjab vs Hyderabad matches. If he clicks at the crease, then Sunrisers will surely find themselves at the top of the IPL league table in no time.

Key Stats: Proved his worth as one of the top run-scorers of the tournament, David Warner has won the Orange Cap thrice – 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

  • Role: Bowler
  • Batting Style: Right-handed
  • Bowling Style: Right-arm medium
  • Nationality: Indian

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has cemented his place among the top bowlers of the IPL by becoming the leading wicket-taker for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. A master at the pace attack, Kumar has a host of impressive IPL stats to his name including a massive haul of 133 wickets. It will be interesting to see how he shapes up against Gayle in KXIP vs SRH head to head.

Key Stats: He has clinched the Purple Cap for two successive seasons – 2016 and 2017.

Key Player Battles

When top players from top teams go head to head, you can surely expect some fireworks. Here are some key player battles to look out for in the Kings XI Punjab Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad match:

Chris Gayle vs Bhuvneshwar Kumar

KXIP’s go-to batsman vs SRH's go-to bowler

Strike Rate 151.03 vs Economy 7.24

David Warner vs Mohammed Shami

Unstoppable batting vs Unstoppable talent

Strike Rate 142.31 vs Economy 8.88

The stage is set and the pieces are in place for an incredible KXIP vs SRH match. Will the Kings XI emerge victoriously? Or will the sun shine on Hyderabad? Both teams are packed with talent and experience so it is hard to tell. One thing is absolutely clear, you DO NOT want to miss this match. Follow the IPL live score today and catch all the action with BalleBaazi where you can support your own team.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!