How To Play

The clash between two of the most followed and excellent teams in the IPL promises to be a riveting contest. It will be a contest between ‘Pani Puri’ and ‘Gol Gappe’. On one side is the most successful IPL franchise led by Rohit Sharma, and on the other side is the most promising young team in the tournament, with the youngest captain Shreyas Iyer.

Delhi Capitals, with Ricky Ponting as their head coach who was with Mumbai Indians previously, might spring a surprise on the four-time champions this time around. With a young captain and an experienced coaching staff, DC can be considered as one of the top title contenders this season.

Mumbai Indians are the current champions, but Delhi showed significant progress last season by qualifying for the playoffs under a new captain. They are even stronger this season with a solid top order and balanced bowling unit. Mumbai has the most potent fast bowling line-up which will test Delhi’s top-order.

Let’s have a closer look at the numbers head to head:

MI Vs DC head to head :

Total matches MI DC No result
24 12 12 0

Both teams are at par, but Delhi Capitals has got the better of them in the last two matches of the 3 played. It will prove to be a tight contest with the experienced MI team looking forward to turning it around the DC young guns.

Players to watch out for: Mumbai Indians Vs Delhi Capitals

Team Analysis of MI vs DC 2020

  • According to the IPL stats , Delhi Capitals qualified for semis in the 1st and 2nd seasons but since then had a rough patch, only making the cut last year after rebranding from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals.
  • The reigning champions MI are the most successful team in IPL history and have four title wins to their names while also finishing runners up once in 2010. In the last five editions, they have won the title 3 times.
  • Delhi’s batting unit will be strengthened with Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane available for selection with an already impressive lineup. Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant will have the onus on them to get the team going.
  • DC will have their work cut out upfront as Mumbai has added New Zealand paced Trent Boult into their attack. Along with Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan and Aussie pacer James Pattison will make for the most exciting fast bowling lineup in the IPL
  • For DC, Kagiso Rabada will hold the key to lead the attack. His overs upfront against Rohit Sharma, who is one of the greatest ever players in the IPL, will set up the match in either team's favor.
  • Mumbai Indians will be counting on the star player Hardik Pandya who rocked the stadiums with his astounding strike rate in 2019’s IPL. He will be a key player in their explosive middle order.
  • Delhi will bank on Ravichandran Ashwin, to work magic with his fingers against Pollard and Pandya in the middle overs to restrict MI to a gettable total.

Let's have a look at DC vs MI Squad!

Delhi Capitals

Shreyas Iyer Marcus Stoinis Rishabh Pant
Shikhar Dhawan Lalit Yadav Alex Carey
Prithvi Shaw Keemo Paul Harshal Patel
Ajinkya Rahane Axar Patel Amit Mishra
Shimron Hetmyer Ravichandran Ashwin Sandeep Lamichhane
Jason Roy Chris Woakes Avesh Khan
Ishant Sharma Kagiso Rabada Mohit Sharma
Tushar Deshpande

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma Hardik Pandya James Pattinson
Trent Boult Jasprit Bumrah Kieron Pollard
Quinton de Kock Prince Balwant Rai Saurabh Tiwary
Suryakumar Yadav Rahul Chahar Chris Lynn
Krunal Pandya Ishan Kishan Digvijay Deshmukh
Aditya Tare Nathan Coulter-Nile Sherfane Rutherford
Anukul Roy Mitchell McClenaghan Jayant Yadav
Mohsin Khan Dhawal Kulkarni Anmolpreet Singh

Probable XI for MI vs DC IPL 2020

Mumbai Indians Line-up

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, James Pattinson, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Delhi Capitals Line-up

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis , Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Mohit Sharma

IPL Results ofMI vs DD till date

No. Tournament Venue Winner
1. 2008 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 29 runs
2. 2008 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 5 wickets
3. 2009 IPl East London Delhi Daredevils won by 7 wickets
4. 2009 IPL Centurion Delhi Daredevils won by 4 wickets
5. 2010 IPL Delhi Mumbai Indians won by 98 runs
6. 2010 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 39 runs
7. 2011 IPL Delhi Mumbai Indians won by 8 wickets
8. 2011 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 32 runs
9. 2012 IPL Mumbai Delhi Daredevils won by 7 wickets
10. 2012 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 37 runs
11. 2013 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 44 runs
12. 2013 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 9 wickets
13. 2014 IPL Sharjah Delhi Daredevils won by 6 wickets
14. 2014 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 15 runs
15. 2015 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 37 runs
16. 2015 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 5 wickets
17. 2016 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 10 runs
18. 2016 IPL Visakhapatnam Mumbai Indians won by 80 runs
19. 2017 IPL Mumbai Mumbai Indians won by 14 runs
20. 2017 IPL Delhi Mumbai Indians won by 146 runs
21. 2018 IPL Mumbai Delhi Daredevils won by 7 wickets
22. 2018 IPL Delhi Delhi Daredevils won by 11 runs
23. 2019 IPL Mumbai Delhi Capitals won by 37 runs
24. 2019 IPL Delhi Mumbai Indians won by 40 runs

Show your love for IPL and check the IPL live score today and see who wins the battle between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. Both teams have excellent line-ups, so let's expect some fireworks and surprises during the game between these two champions.Watch all the IPL matches and let’s see who tops the IPL league table this year.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!