When Two Underdogs Meet: Mumbai Indians Vs Rajasthan Royals

How To Play

Indian Premier League is not just a season, it’s a feeling. Every year when IPL takes place, all we wait for is the time when the entire social media is full of excitement, people come together for their favourite teams, and we can’t help but stick to our electronic devices to cheer them while they play. One such excitement is experienced when the clash is Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals. These two teams never fail at leaving the audience in awe, and leave us with wanting more.

Rajasthan Royals is considered the “Moneyball” team in the IPL. However, the only Indian Premier League season they have won was in 2008 against Chennai Super Kings. The team is based at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur and Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad. The team is owned by a bunch of people including Amisha Hathiramani, Lachlan Murdoch, Shane Warne, and Manoj Badale. Their predominant pink jersey with accents of blue gives them a sign of royalty. The team is led by the talented Steve Smith, and their famous theme song says ‘Halla Bol’, just the way they do it on the field.

Mumbai Indians have, from time to time, proved their worth and skills on the field. The team is based at Wankhede Stadium and has an attractive blue and gold jersey. The captain of Mumbai Indians is the skilled Rohit Sharma who has never left any stone unturned. The team is owned by Nita Ambani and Akash Ambani (Reliance Industries). Like mentioned before, Mumbai Indians never let their fans down; their theme song ‘Duniya Hila Denge’ is something they abide by. The team logo is a Sudharsan Chakra that not only makes their jersey attractive but also gives a ray of positivity to the team.

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) are two teams who have gone head to head for 23 times. The IPL Results below show how the two teams have been constantly defeating each other and how, after all these years, there’s no leading team.

Undoubtedly, MI vs RR Head to Head is worth looking at.

Played Won by RR Won by MI Tie No result
23 11 11 0 1

Let’s have a deeper insight into Mumbai vs Rajasthan with the help of a detailed IPL League Table.

Year Winner Won By Venue
IPL 2008 Mumbai Indians 7 wickets Mumbai
IPL 2008 Rajasthan Royals 5 wickets Jaipur
IPL 2009 -- Match Abandoned Durban
IPL 2009 Rajasthan Royals 3 wickets Durban
IPL 2010 Mumbai Indians 4 runs Mumbai
IPL 2010 Mumbai Indians 37 runs Jaipur
IPL 2011 Rajasthan Royals 7 wickets Jaipur
IPL 2011 Rajasthan Royals 10 wickets Mumbai
IPL 2012 Mumbai Indians 27 runs Mumbai
IPL 2012 Mumbai Indians 10 wickets Jaipur
IPL 2013 Rajasthan Royals 87 runs Jaipur
IPL 2013 Mumbai Indians 14 runs Mumbai
IPL 2013 Mumbai Indians 4 wickets Kolkata
IPL 2013 Rajasthan Royals 7 wickets Jaipur
IPL 2013 Mumbai Indians 33 runs Delhi
IPL 2014 Mumbai Indians 25 runs Ahmedabad
IPL 2014 Mumbai Indians 5 wickets Mumbai
IPL 2015 Rajasthan Royals 7 wickets Ahmedabad
IPL 2015 Mumbai Indians 8 runs Mumbai
IPL 2018 Rajasthan Royals 3 wickets Jaipur
IPL 2018 Rajasthan Royals 7 wickets Mumbai
IPL 2019 Rajasthan Royals 4 wickets Mumbai
IPL 2019 Rajasthan Royals 5 wickets Jaipur

We all can agree that MI vs RR gives us chills and leaves us wondering who will win in every match until the last moment. Even though the team is filled with most skilled and talented players, the team squad can change sometimes, making it a dynamic squad.

MI vs RR Teams

Rajasthan Royals Squad 2020

Steve Smith Jos Buttler Sanju Samson Jofra Archer Ben Stokes
Robin Uthappa David Miller Mahipal Lomror Ankit Rajpoot Manan Vohra
Riyan Parag Mayank Markande Shreyas Gopal Varun Aaron Jaydev Unadkat
Kartik Tyagi Akash Singh Oshane Thomas Andrew Tye Rahul Tewatia
Shashank Singh Yashasvi Jaiswal Anirudha Joshi Tom Curran Anuj Rawat

Mumbai Indians Squad 2020

Kieron Pollard Rohit Sharma Hardik Pandya Aditya Tare Jasprit Bumrah
Anmolpreet Singh Ankul Roy Chris Lynn Dhawal Kulkarni Digvijay Deshmukh
Ishan Kishan James Pattinson Jayant Yadav Kunal Pandya Mitchell McClenaghan
Mohsin Khan Nathan Coulter Nile Prince Balwant Rai Quinton De Kock Rahul Chahar
Trent Boult Suryakumar Yadav Sherfane Rutherford Saurabh Tiwary

The available IPL Stats show us the reality of the team and their progress. It’s important to know the abilities and roles of the players, for better analysis. MI vs RR 2020 will take place on 6th October 2020 and 25th October 2020.

Players to watch out (Rajasthan Royals)

  1. Steve Smith, who had his IPL debut in 2012 is a right-handed Australian batsman with a batting average of 38.01 (2091 total runs). His leadership skills are a big boost for Rajasthan Royals when they appear on the field.
  2. Ben Stokes, who had his IPL debut in 2017 is one of the greatest all-rounders in current times. He has a batting average of 22.67 (635 total runs) whereas his bowling average is 31.07 with a total of 26 wickets. He has remained an effective player and is a true asset to the team.
  3. Sanju Samson, who had his IPL debut in 2013, is a right-handed wicket-keeper batsman with a batting average of 28.18 and 2283 runs. He was personally groomed by Rahul Dravid and made his T20I debut in 2015.

Players to watch out (Mumbai Indians)

  1. Rohit Sharma , who had his IPL Debut in 2008 is a right-handed batsman, who is a run-getter and absolutely enjoys when he’s on the field. With an average of 31.78 and a total of 4990 runs, he is a great asset to the team.
  2. Kieron Pollard , who had his IPL debut in 2010, he is a West Indian all-rounder who has a batting average of 28.72 and 2786 runs, whereas a bowling average of 31.42 and 57 wickets. He has been there with the team through thick and thin.
  3. Hardik Pandya , who had his IPL debut in 2015, is a young all-rounder that never lets pressure affect his game. With a batting average of 28.20 with 1100 runs and a bowling average of 31.26 with 42 wickets, it is no surprise that he is a pinch hitter.

Check the IPL Live Score today as it’s that time of the year again. Prepare yourself for the nerve-wracking battle between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals. Check MI vs RR Live Scoreon your phone in case you miss out on the match.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!