The Southern Derby: Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

How To Play

RCB vs SRH is a game between two sides that have very different styles of playing. RCB, on one hand, is a batting-heavy side with two of the best batsmen of the modern era in their lineup, while SRH has always been known for their quality bowling attack. It will be a great contest between RCB’s batting and SRH’s bowling. Will Rashid Khan trump the Kohli-AB duo?

In the previous RCB vs SRH IPL matches, Sunrisers Hyderabad was totally dependent on Warner and Bairstow without much depth in their middle order. On the other hand, RCB has addressed their over-dependence on Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers this year. The upcoming talent Devdutt Paddikal and the world-class big-hitter Glenn Maxwell will provide them with the batting depth required. With Aaron Finch being released ahead of the IPL 2021 auctions, does it mean that Virat Kohli will open the innings for RCB?

RCB will have their work cut against SRH’s bowling line-up comprising Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan and Mohd Nabi who are all world-class T20 bowlers. SRH is the only team who has regularly defended below-par totals, even below 130.

RCB vs SRH Head to Head Stats:

Total matches RCB SRH No result
18 7 10 1

Both teams were neck and neck in the IPL results until IPL 2020 when SRH beat RCB 2 out of 3 times, including once in the eliminator. RCB has gone in with a much-balanced squad this time around and will hold the upper hand against SRH. Let’s have a look at players to watch out for in this edition.

Players to watch out for - Bangalore vs Hyderabad :

Devdutt Padikal Jonny Bairstow
AB De Villiers Mitchell Marsh
Kyle Jamieson Rashid khan

Team Analysis of RR vs SRH 2020

Although both the teams outshine with each passing season, it is very crucial to get the analysis of the teams before watching them play on the field. With the team analysis, we can find out who is going to make their position in the IPL league table 2020.

  • Indian U19 star Devdutt Paddikal shone at the top in his debut IPL season and all eyes will be on him, this time around. RCB will expect the young gun to give consistent performances on which AB-Virat can capitalise later on.
  • Warner and Bairstow both got the most number of runs in the last edition, which earned them a place in the playoffs. Albeit, they couldn’t go any further as Bairstow had to leave mid-tournament, exposing their lacklustre middle order.
  • Kane Williamson, may find it difficult to find a spot in the playing 11 as it may go against the balance of the squad. If that is how the management thinks, Manish Pandey will have the responsibility of holding up one end for them.
  • RCB has played three finals in 2009, 2011 and 2016 but has not won the title. This might be the year they go the full distance and win it for their widely growing fanbase.
  • Virat and AB have been their mainstay for the last 4-5 years, and over-dependence on them has cost RCB dearly. They will once again hold the key in the top order to get the team to winning totals.
  • RCB will rely on Yuzi Chahal to get them the breakthroughs in the middle overs as he has been their most consistent bowler over the last few seasons.
  • Rashid Khan who has been one of the most consistent performers for SRH in recent years, along with countrymen Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahman will hold the key for SRH in the middle overs.

The Probable XI for 2020

Sunrisers Hyderabad Lineup

David Warner (Captain), Jonny Bairstow (Wicket Keeper), Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar , Abhishek Sharma, Mitchell Marsh, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Royal Challengers Bangalore Lineup

Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli (Captain), AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell , Josh Philippe (Wicket Keeper), Washington Sundar, Daniel Christian, Navdeep Saini , Mohd Siraj, Kyle Jamieson, Yuzvendra Chahal

The IPL of RCB vs SRH:

No. Tournament Venue Winner
2013 IPL Hyderabad Match Tied (Sunrisers won in the super over)
2013 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 7 wickets
2014 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 4 wickets
2014 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 7 wickets
2015 IPL Bangalore Sunrisers won by 8 wickets
2015 IPL Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 6 wickets (D/L)
7. 2016 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 45 runs
  8. 2016 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers won by 15 runs
  9. 2016 IPL Bangalore Sunrisers won by 8 runs
 10. 2017 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers won by 35 runs
 11. 2017 IPL Bangalore Match abandoned without a ball being bowled
 12. 2018 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 5 runs
 13. 2018 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 14 runs
 14. 2019 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 118 runs
 15. 2019 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 4 wickets
16. 2020 IPL Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 10 runs
17. 2020 IPL Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 5 wickets
18. 2020 IPL (Eliminator) Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 6 wickets

Squad of RCB and Sunrisers Hyderabad for the IPL 2020

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli Adam Zampa KS Bharat
Devdutt Padikkal Mohammed Azharuddeen  
Glenn Maxwell Kyle Jamieson  
Sachin Baby Daniel Christian  
AB de Villiers Josh Philippe  
Washington Sundar Mohammed Siraj  
Pavan Deshpande Navdeep Saini  
Yuzvendra Chahal Rajat Patidar  
Shahbaz Ahmed Suyash Prabhudessai  

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner Abhishek Sharma Basil Thampi
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Mujeeb Ur Rahman Jonny Bairstow
Kane Williamson Manish Pandey Mohammad Nabi
Rashid Khan Sandeep Sharma Shahbaz Nadeem
Shreevats Goswami Siddarth Kaul Khaleel Ahmed
T Natarajan Vijay Shankar Wriddhiman Saha
Virat Singh Priyam Garg Mitchell Marsh
Jagadeesha Suchith Abdul Samad  
Kedar Jadhav Jason Holder  

Looking at the potential of both these sides, it will make for a nail-biting contest. The key to this game will be the contest between Rashid Khan and RCB’s top order. If the Kohli-AB duo gets going, there will be no stopping them, and the SRH bowlers will be hit around all over the park. What an entertaining sight it will be!

To enhance the entertainment of the Indian T20 season, download the BalleBaazi Fantasy Games App and use your knowledge of the game to make your teams and WIN real cash daily. Sign up now and play your debut match for free.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!