Indian Cricket Team

How To Play

The Indian cricket team , popularly known as men in blue, represents India in the international fixtures which include bilateral series played against various other nations or any of the global events that are organized by the ICC or International Cricket Council such as the ICC World Test Championship, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC ODI World Cup.

History of Indian International Cricket Team

It was 1932 when the Indian team played the first-ever Test match. From that time only, they became an important part of international cricket events.

Over the years, they have also actively participated in almost all the multi-nation tournaments that are organized by the ICC.

Governing Body

The BCCI or Board of Control for Cricket in India has been managing the India national cricket team since 1929.

It is responsible for the proper management of the kit sponsors, tours, and accommodations along with various other facilities that the Indian cricket team players get. The headquarters of the BCCI cricket is at the Wankhede Stadium located in Mumbai.

Captain and Support Staff

  • Captain -  Virat Kohli
  • Head coach -  Ravi Shastri
  • Batting coach - Vikram Rathour
  • Fielding coach - Ramakrishnan Sridhar
  • Bowling coach - Bharat Arun
  • Strength and conditioning coach - Nick Webb
  • Team manager - Girish Dongre
  • Assistant coach -  Bharat Arun
  • Physio - Nitin Patel

Squad/ Today Indian Cricket Team Players List

Player Age Role Style
Shubman Gill 21 All-rounder Right Handed
Ravindra Jadeja 32 All-rounder
KL Rahul 28 Batsman Right Handed
Navdeep Saini 28 Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam
Shreyas Iyer 26 Batsman Right Handed
Virat Kohli 32 Middle Order Batsman Right Handed
Jasprit Bumrah 27 Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam
Yuzvendra Chahal 30 Bowler Right Arm Leg spin
Kedar Jadhav 35 All-rounder Right Handed
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 30 Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam
Shikhar Dhawan 35 Batsman
Rohit Sharma 33 Batsman Right Handed
Kuldeep Yadav 26 Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox
Rishabh Pant 23 Wicket Keeper
Prithvi Shaw 21 Batsman Right Handed
Mohammed Shami 30 Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam
Hardik Pandya 27 All-rounder Right Handed
Manish Pandey 31 Batsman Right Handed
MS Dhoni 39 Wicket Keeper Right Handed

Prominent Indian Cricket Players

  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Rohit Sharma
  • MS Dhoni

India National Cricket Team Roster: Full Schedule 2021

Test, T20, ODI: January 7th, 15th India Tour of Australia
Test: February 5th to March 28th. England Tour of India
April 9th to May 30th: Indian Premier League, 2021
Test: June 18th Ind vs NZ. ICC Test Championship
Test: August 4th to September 14th. India Tour of England

ICC Cricket World Cup

From the time of the inaugural edition in the year 1975, the India national cricket team players have participated in all the World Cups.

Under the captainship of Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni , they have won the Championship twice, i.e. in the year 1983 as well as 2011 respectively.

The Indian team players were finalists in the 2003 edition played in South Africa . They were the host of the World Cup played in the year of 1987, 1996, and 2011.

Performance Of India In The ICC Cricket World Cup (As Of September 2019)

Matches Won Lost No Result Tied
84 53 29 1 1

ICC T20 World Cup

The Indian cricket team kick-started their ICC T20 World Cup tournament with a win in the campaign’s inaugural edition that was held in South Africa.

Later, in the 2014 World T20, they played another Final, but unfortunately, they lost to the Sri Lankan cricket team . Also, the tournament’s 2016 edition was conducted in India.

Performance Of India In The ICC T20 World Cup (As Of September 2019)

Matches Won Lost No Result Tied
33 20 11 1 1

ICC Champions Trophy

It was previously known to be the ICC Knockout Trophy, which is considered to be the most successful subcontinent team tournament. Team India won this twice (shared one time) and was the runners-up twice.

The second edition of the tournament was conducted in the year 2000 in Kenya, but unfortunately, they lost that time to New Zealand .

In the next edition, they shared the title and trophy with Sri Lanka. This is because they were unable to finish the Final due to the continuous rain even on the reserve day.

Later, they won the singles championship for the first time in the year 2013 in England and Wales. But, in the 2017 edition, they lost the Final against the Pakistan cricket team in the same nation. India was the host of Champions Trophy in the year 2006.

Performance Of India In The ICC Champions Trophy (As Of September 2019)

Matches Won Lost No Result Tied
29 18 8 3 0

Asia Cup

The Asia Cup, conducted by the ACC or Asian Cricket Council is a 50 over competition played among the Asian nations.
Only the Asia Cup’s 2016 edition was seen as a T20 tournament. Team India won this title seven times, which includes the T20 edition.
They were the runners up thrice. Since the inaugural edition of the Asia Cup in the year 1984, India has actively participated in each edition except the one conducted in the year 1986.

Performance Of India In The Asia Cup (As Of September 2019)

Format Matches Won Lost No Result Tied
T20I 5 5 0 0 0
ODI 49 31 16 1 1

To get more information about the Indian cricket team , you can follow the BCCI news . They will provide you with a clear idea about the Indian cricket team players list. You can also get BCCI live score from their official website.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!