New Zealand Cricket Team

How To Play

New Zealand Cricket, erstwhile New Zealand Cricket Council, is the top governing authority of the cricketing activities of the country. They have full control of the New Zealand cricket team and organize different tours and exhibition matches alike. New Zealand Cricket also organizes domestic cup competitions for its country like the Plunkett Shield first-class competition, the Ford one-day cup, and the Super Smash domestic t20 series. Former New Zealand cricketer, David White is the current chief executive officer of the cricket team.

New Zealand Cricket History

  • The first traces of cricket can be found in New Zealand after the colonization of the country by European imperialists.
  • The first recorded match of New Zealand Cricket was played as early as 1842 in Wellington.
  • The first international tour against the New Zealand Cricket team is recorded in the 1890s when an English team led by George Parr visited the nation.
  • On 27th December 1894, a 12-member delegation of the New Zealand cricket board decided at Christchurch to lay the Foundation of New Zealand Cricket Council with Heathcote Williams as the first-ever president.
  • The New Zealand cricket board, which later came to be renamed as New Zealand Cricket, aimed at promoting and enriching the culture of cricket in New Zealand and organize tours for the New Zealand cricket team.

New Zealand Team Schedule

New Zealand Cricket Schedule vs Australia (T20 Internationals)

Date Venue Time
22nd February Christchurch 19:00
25th February Dunedin 14:00
3rd March Wellington 19:00
5th March Eden Park 19:00
7th March Bay Oval 14:00

New Zealand Cricket Schedule vs Bangladesh (first 3 matches are ODI followed by T20)

Date Venue Time
13th March Dunedin 11:00
17th March Christchurch 14:00
20th March Basin Reserve 11:00
23rd March Mclean Park 19:00
26th March Eden Park 19:00
28th March Seddon Park 14:00

New Zealand Cricket Team

  • Popularly known as the black caps, the New Zealand national cricket team played their first international match in the 1930s. They became the fifth country to become a Test playing nation.
  • They had to wait for 26 years, till 1956, to get their first test victory. The Kiwis defeated the West Indies cricket team at Eden Park, Auckland.
  • They played their first one-day international against Pakistan at Christchurch in 1972.
  • A report of 2021 March states that the New Zealand National Cricket Team has played 1360 matches, winning almost 524 matches.
  • Their current captain is Kane Williamson, and New Zealand cricket is coached by Gary Stead.

New Zealand Cricket Squad

Name Age Batting style Bowling style
Finn Allen 22 Right Handed Right arm off-spin
Tom Bruce 29 Right Handed Right arm off-spin
Mark Chapman 26 Left-handed Slow left-arm spin
Martin Guptill 34 Right-handed Right arm off-spin
Colin Munro 34 Left Handed Right-arm medium
Henry Nicholls 29 Left-handed Right arm off-spin
Glen Phillips 24 Right-handed Right arm off-spin
Jeet Raval 32 Left-handed Right arm leg spin
Ross Taylor 27 Right-handed Right arm off-spin
Kane Williamson 30 Right Handed Right arm off-spin
Will Young 28 Right Handed Right arm off-spin
Tom Latham 29 Left-handed Right-arm medium
Tim Seifert 26 Right-handed
BJ Watling 35 Right-handed  Right arm off-spin
Colin De Grandhomme 34 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Kyle Jamieson 26 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
James Neesham 30 Left-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Mitchell Santner 29 Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Trent Boult 31 Right-handed Left-arm fast
Lockie Ferguson 29 Right-handed Right arm fast
Matt Henry 29 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Tim Southee 32 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Neil Wagner 35 Left-handed Left-arm fast-medium

New Zealand Cricket Team Performance and Stats

The New Zealand cricket team has participated in tests and ODIs alike, and the following table will show the performance of the New Zealand cricket team players.

Opposition Span Series Played Won Lost Drawn
Australia 1946-2020 24 3 15 6
Bangladesh 2001-2019 8 7 0 1
England 1930-2019 37 5 23 9
India 1955-2020 21 6 11 4
Pakistan 1955-2021 24 5 13 6
South-Africa 1932-2017 16 0 13 3
Sri-Lanka 1983-2019 17 7 4 6
West-Indies 1952-2020 18 8 6 4
Zimbabwe 1992-2016 10 7 0 3

The New Zealand Cricket Team stats demonstrate that the team players have performed reasonably well with the top test playing nations of the world, and quite often, New Zealand cricket has come out successful.

New Zealand Squad

The New Zealand cricket team has plenty of options to choose from when it comes to the selection of the Kiwis, but the team that last represented the New Zealand national cricket team are:

  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor
  • B.J. Watling
  • Tom Blundell
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Kylie Jamieson
  • Tom Latham
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Ajaz Patel
  • Tim Southee
  • Trent Boult
  • Neil Wagner

These members of the New Zealand Cricket team by the New Zealand cricket board are roped in for the upcoming New Zealand Cricket schedule against India.

Prominent Players

Kane Williamson

Probably the greatest batsman of this generation for the New Zealand national cricket team and a crown jewel for NZC, Kane Williamson is their captain and a top order batsman. With an average of over 54 and 47 in tests and ODIs, respectively, he has maintained his talismanic presence in the team and has taken NZC to new heights with his consistency. In their upcoming test championship final, NZC will be hoping that he continues with his elegance with the bat.


  • Is New Zealand a good cricket team?

Yes, in fact, the New Zealand cricket team has been so impressive in the past two years that they have left behind the heavy weights and will play India in the final of the test championship.

  • Who is the best player in New Zealand?

According to different legends of NZC, including Martin Crowe, Kane Williamson is probably the most talented and most consistent player of New Zealand Cricket.

  • Who is the best Captain of New Zealand?

Currently, Kane Williamson is doing a great job for NZC and has taken them to the test championship final; the New Zealand national cricket team also played the World Cup final under his leadership.

  • Has New Zealand won any cricket World Cup?

No, the New Zealand national cricket team has not won any world cups, but NZC has reached two consecutive finals in 2015 and 2019.

  • Who is the best bowler in New Zealand?

A lot of legends of New Zealand cricket believe that Trent Boult and Mitchell Santner are the two best bowlers of the New Zealand National cricket team.

Enjoy the Best Fantasy Sports Experience with BalleBaazi

Watch your favorite players of the New Zealand national cricket team in action on BalleBaazi and create your own fantasy cricket team of the best performers to win handsome monetary rewards. Just log on to the BalleBaazi website and download our app to stay updated on all NZC actions. Enjoy 200% bonus up to INR 7000 on your first deposit, so sign up today without wasting another moment!

Get 50 Joining Bonus!