• Home
  • Men’s World Cup 2021 Venue and More Cricket Trivia

Men’s World Cup 2021 Venue and More Cricket Trivia

How To Play

The T20 Men’s World Cup, administered by the International Cricket Council is a critically acclaimed and accepted tournament across the globe. The 2021 T20 World Cup is the seventh edition played between 16 participants in the United Arab Emirates and Oman in the successive scheduled dates. The World Cup 2021 venue has been changed in June 2020 by the governing council which was previously to be held in India. The venue dates from 17th October to 14th November 2021 were fixed upon by the administrative body for the exclusive event, pertaining to the rising concerns about a possible third COVID-19 wave.

After much discourse and analysis, the International Cricket Council (ICC) zeroed in on two Middle Eastern countries to be UAE and Oman that shall be host for the play-off rounds in the ICC T20 World Cup Venue. The 16 teams are bifurcated into different groups as per their scheduled venue, date and stages. The ICC Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup 2021 are:

Stage of the tournament Group Countries Allotted
Round 1 Group A Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia
Round 1 Group B Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman
Super 12 Group 1 England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2
Super 12 Group 2 India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B

These sets will play in the allocated World Cup 2021 venue located across the stadiums of UAE and Oman.

The ICC T20 World Cup Venue 2021

The ICC T20 World Cup Venue was finally decided after much deliberation by the core team of International Cricket Council (ICC). The council has changed the World Cup 2021 Venue due to the ongoing mutant of the communicable virus. The BCCI will now host the Men’s World Cup in two locations: United Arab Emirates and Oman from 17 October 2021 to 14 November 2021.

With an absolutely new and thoughtful tinge, the World Cup will recognise batsman as ‘batter’ from the seventh edition onwards. The ICC Cricket Board which is the administrative body of the series announced in April 2021 that the T20 World Cup 2021 will override the future Champions Trophy 2021, which is now scheduled in the upcoming year 2022 in Australia. The ICC T20 World Cup Venue has been placed in two distinct locations wherein the 45 matches will be played by 16 teams. 

ICC T20 World Cup Venue, Teams and its Divisions

The World Cup 2021 venue will take over matches of 8 demarcated teams (in 2 groups) in the initial stage 1 playoffs, to be held in the ascertained World Cup 2021 venue.

Group A consists of

  • Sri Lanka
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Namibia

Group B consists of

  • Bangladesh
  • Scotland
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Oman

The two teams will further qualify from each group and these four individual teams will join the previously qualified 8 teams namely., India, West Indies, England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan and Afghanistan and battle for the Super 12 in the selected World Cup 2021 venue. Thereafter, the semi-finals, shall lick off on 10th and 11th November on the World Cup 2021 venue respectively. The ICC Men’s final T20 World Cup 2021 venue is set in Dubai which is to be played on 14 November 2021.

The ICC T20 World Cup Venue is covered by the three prominent stadiums of United Arab Emirates, namely:

  • Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai
  • Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
  • Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium,  Abu Dhabi

In Oman, the matches will be held in its prestigious Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat alongwith the final World Cup 2021 Venue. The top two qualifying teams as per the T20 World Cup Point Table will have a face-off in the grand finale round at the World Cup 2021 venue,  Dubai International Cricket Stadium for the esteemed trophy.

T20 World Cup 2021 Venue Specifics

The World Cup 2021 has two spectacular locations in different stadiums, famous for a good T20 record score. The Sheikh Zayed Stadium is ascertained to host the most number of matches as the World Cup 2021 venue. UAE is the sole venue to preside over the qualifying stage, Super 12s and the knockout rounds. Initially the UAE stadiums will host the qualifying stage and then, move ahead with the Super 12 and semi-final rounds respectively. The Sharjah stadium, popular for generating the most number of scores in T-series is also chosen as the T20 World Cup 2021 Venue, however, it will not host the knock-off rounds.

The Oman-based ICC T20 World Cup venue Al Amerat Cricket Ground will host around six T20 qualifying matches as the World Cup 2021 venue. The home team Oman has braced themselves for the match and is scheduled to play the three qualifying matches in their very own home stadium.

The biggest and the closing match of the final will be played in the World Cup 2021 venue of the Dubai International Cricket Stadium at UAE. This venue is all set to host 11 matches covering the whole of Super 12 rounds. This ICC T20 World Cup venue will also conduct the second semi-final round and the summit clash, emerging as the world’s seventh country to host the international series. 

World Cup 2021 Venue Dates: A Consolidated Sheet at a Glance

World Cup 2021 Venue City Scheduled matches to be played Allotted dates Seats available Spot
Sheikh Zayed Stadium Abu Dhabi 15 October 18, 20, 22, 23, 27, 31; November 02, 03, 04, 06, 07, 10 20,000 North and pavilion end
Sharjah stadium Sharjah 11 October 24, 25, 26, 29, 30; November 01, 05, 06, 07 16,000 Sharjah club and the pavilion
Dubai International Stadium Dubai 13 October 24, 26, 28, 29, 30, 31; November 03, 04, 05, 08, 11, 14 25,000 Dubai sports city and Emirates road end
Al Amerat Cricket Ground Muscat 6 October 17, 19, 21 2,000 Pavilion and Al Amerat end

BalleBaazi: An enthralling ICC T20 World Cup experience

BalleBaazi is one of India’s fastest growing fantasy gaming platforms that  helps you win cash prizes after each battle in the sports field. If you have the cricket craze within you, then do try our gaming app for an extensive approach and experience goosebumps of the ongoing T-20 match. Our fantasy gaming app has a guilty treat for sports lovers of all kind- fantasy cricket, basketball, football and more.

Hurry and grab an extraordinary chance to win mind boggling cash prizes by playing your favourite sport. Be a part of our innovative venture and keep riding the BalleBaazi wave daily to win more.

Get 50 Joining Bonus!