T20 World Cup Winners: Complete Winner list from 2007-2022

T20 World Cup Winners

The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international tournament that is played between top international cricket teams worldwide once every two years. This World Cup tournament is organized and managed by the International Cricket Council (ICC). 

T20 is a well-established and extremely popular cricket format and that is why the fan following of the ICC T20 World Cup is equally huge. The very first edition of T20 was played in South Africa in the year 2007.

As mentioned above this particular tournament takes place once every two years. Nevertheless, due to the pandemic, there were significant changes in organizing the World Cup. It was decided by the ICC that the ICC T20 World Cup will be played in both 2021 and 2022 (to make up for the absence of the tournament). 

The latest ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be organized in Australia and this tournament will be played from 16th October to 13th November 2022. To refresh our memories, let us recap the winners of this prestigious tournament since its inception (from 2007 to 2022).

Full T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2022) 

Tournament year Host Winner Runner up Margin of winning Player of the series Top run scorer
2007 South Africa India Pakistan 5 runs Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka 8 wickets Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan
2010 West Indies England Australia 7 wickets Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka 36 runs Shane Watson Shane Watson
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India 6 wickets  Virat Kohli Virat Kohli
2016 India West Indies England 4 wickets Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal
2021 Oman and UAE Australia New Zealand 8 wickets David Warner Babar Azam

T20 World Cup Title: Team Winners


Number of T20 World Cup won







West Indies


Sri Lanka




T20 World Cup Winners: 2021

In the last edition of the tournament, Australia became World Cup champions in 2021 by beating its neighboring country and rival New Zealand by 8 wickets. This is also the first time Australia won the ICC T20 World Cup. 12 teams participated in this tournament and there were a total of two groups (with six teams in each of them).

In the final match played between Australia and New Zealand at Dubai International Stadium Mitchell Marsh from Australia was the man of the match and the player of the tournament was David Warner from the same country.

T20 World Cup Winners: 2016

A total of ten teams participated in the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 and West Indies became the champion of this tournament by beating the other finalist and one-time T20 World Cup winners England. Also, West Indies is the only team who have won this championship twice.

In this edition of the tournament, West Indies lost only one match and that too against Afghanistan in the group stage. West Indies won this trophy for the first time in 2012. The celebrated Indian batsman Virat Kohli was the player of the series in this tournament. 

Tamim Iqbal of Bangladesh was the highest scorer in the tournament while Mohammad Nabi took the most wickets.

T20 World Cup Winners: 2014

The ICC T20 World Cup 2014 was hosted by Bangladesh and a total of 10 teams participated in this tournament. The final match of this tournament was played between India and Sri Lanka while the latter became the champion for the first time in this tournament.

This was the 2nd tournament in which India reached all the way to the final only to lose the match by 6 wickets to its neighboring country. In this T20 World Cup, Virat Kolhi became the player of the series as well as the highest run scorer of the tournament. On the other hand, Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir jointly held the position of highest wicket-taker of ICC T20 World Cup 2014. 

T20 World Cup Winners: 2012

In the 4th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup which was held in 2012, a total of 8 teams participated. Sri Lanka was the official host of this tournament and West Indies was the team that became the World champion. It was also the first time West Indies won the ICC T20 World Cup. 

The final match of this tournament was played between Sri Lanka (the host country) and West Indies, where Sri Lanka was beaten by 36 runs. Although the West Indies lost their first match against Australia, at the end of the tournament, they turned out to be the world champions.

Both the achievement of highest run scorer and player of the tournament was bagged by the legendary Australian player Shane Watson. The highest wicket-taker of the series was Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka.

T20 World Cup Winners: 2010

The ICC T20 World Cup 2010 was officially hosted by the West Indies and England was the winner of this tournament. It is also the first non-Asian team to win the ICC T20 World Cup. Australia and England were the finalists of the tournament and England beat its long-time rival by 7 wickets. 

Kevin Pietersen was the player of the series of this World cup while Mahela Jayawardene was the highest run scorer. Also, Dirk Nannes took the most wickets in this tournament.

T20 World Cup Winners: 2009

The T20 World Cup Winner in 2009 was Pakistan who defeated Sri Lanka to become the world champion for the first time. It is also the second time Pakistan reached the final although it lost its first match to England. Sri Lanka lost the final match by 8 wickets while Tillakaratne Dilshan from Sri Lanka was both the top run-scorer and player of the tournament.

T20 World Cup Winners: 2007

The very first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 was won by none other than India. The two finalists of this tournament were India and Pakistan. India defeated Pakistan by 5 runs. ICC T20 World Cup 2007 was hosted by South Africa and Shahid Afridi of Pakistan was the player of the series in this tournament. Also, the highest run scorer was Matthew Hayden.

T20 is an extremely popular format of cricket and the ICC T20 World Cups are equally popular tournaments where countries try their best to become the World Champions. The latest ICC T20 World Cup is going to be an absolute entertainer. 

Australia being the host and defending champions, the Men in Blue with strong records in the past couple of years in fast formats, and New Zealand powering up behind, this one is going to be a close call between the top three that will lock eyeballs worldwide.